The 2014 Polaris Music Prize Short List was revealed today in Toronto at the Carlu. The 41-title Long List that was announced last month at the National Music Centre in Calgary was whittled down to just 10 Bands / Musicians and their albums.

Have a look at The 2014 Polaris Music Prize Short List below
(In Alphabetical Order):

  • Arcade Fire – Reflektor
  • Basia Bulat – Tall Tall Shadow
  • Mac DeMarco – Salad Days
  • Drake – Nothing Was The Same
  • Jessy Lanza – Pull My Hair Back (Featured in photo above)
  • Owen Pallett – In Conflict
  • Shad – Flying Colours
  • Tanya Tagaq – Animism
  • Timber Timbre – Hot Dreams

Short List nominees Tanya Tagaq, Shad and YAMANTAKA // SONIC TITAN were in attendance at today’s announcement.

Taken from the 41 album Long List, seven of this year’s nominees have made the Short List in previous years: Arcade Fire, Basia Bulat, Drake, Owen Pallett, Shad, Timber Timbre and YAMANTAKA // SONIC TITAN. Mac DeMarco, Jessy Lanza and Tanya Tagaq are first time Short Listers.

Also of note, this is the third Short List nomination for three separate artists:

Arcade Fire (2007, 2011, 2014)
Owen Pallett/Final Fantasy (2006, 2010, 2014)
Shad (2008, 2010, 2014)

The only other act to have three Short List nominations is Metric (2006, 2009, 2013).

The 2014 winner will be determined by an 11-member Grand Jury during the Polaris Gala at The Carlu in Toronto on September 22. The Grand Jury will be selected from the larger pool of nearly 190 music journalists, broadcasters and music bloggers from across Canada who make up the Polaris jury.

It was also announced that actor/writer/comedian Jay Baruchel will host the 2014 Polaris Gala. Ticket information for the Polaris Gala will be announced in the coming weeks.

The eligibility period for the 2014 Polaris Music Prize runs from June 1, 2013 to May 31, 2014. The Polaris Music Prize awards $30,000 to the artist who creates the Canadian Album of the Year, judged solely on artistic merit, without consideration of genre or record sales. Last year’s winner was Godspeed You! Black Emperor for Allelujah! Don’t Bend! Ascend! Past winners include Feist (2012), Arcade Fire (2011), Karkwa (2010), Fucked Up (2009), Caribou (2008), Patrick Watson (2007) and Final Fantasy (2006).

About author View all posts Author website

Aaron McMillan

Aaron is the Founder / Chief Editor and curator of Indie Underground. He was the Festival / Music Director for the 2017 Dundas Street Festival and the Music Director in 2016. He is scene builder / promoter for select events in London Ontario, Toronto, Canada, and Southwestern Ontario. When Aaron's not working on Indie Underground, you'll usually find him at a concert or DIY event. He's a sucker for anything that glows in the dark and the company of his cat, Charlie. Watch for Aaron to make a return to DJing in 2018 when he will begin to mix Trance.