PMP2008_englishThe Polaris Music Prize awards $30,000 to the artist who creates the Canadian Album of the Year. Judged solely on artistic merit, without consideration of genre or record sales, the prize’s past winners have included Feist (2012), Arcade Fire (2011), Karkwa (2010), Fucked Up (2009), Caribou (2008), Patrick Watson (2007) and Final Fantasy (Owen Pallett) (2006).

The 2013 Short List:

  1. Godspeed You! Black Emperor – ‘Allelujah! Don’t Bend! Ascend! (1st nomination)
  2. Zaki Ibrahim – Every Opposite (1st nomination)
  3. Metric – Synthetica (3rd nomination)
  4. METZ – METZ (1st nomination)
  5. Purity Ring – Shrines (1st nomination)
  6. Colin Stetson – New History Warfare Vol. 3: To See More Light (2nd nomination)
  7. Tegan And Sara – Heartthrob (2nd nomination)
  8. A Tribe Called Red – Nation II Nation (1st nomination)
  9. Whitehorse – The Fate Of The World Depends On This Kiss (1st nomination)
  10. Young Galaxy – Ultramarine (1st nomination)

On a personal level I’d like to see Young Galaxy win, but I have a feeling Tegan And Sara or Metric will take the prize. However, I’d be fine with any of those bands winning – even Purity Ring.

Fore more Info and to listen to the nominees go to the Polaris Website.

About author View all posts Author website

Aaron McMillan

Aaron is the Founder / Chief Editor and curator of Indie Underground. He was the Festival / Music Director for the 2017 Dundas Street Festival and the Music Director in 2016. He is scene builder / promoter for select events in London Ontario, Toronto, Canada, and Southwestern Ontario. When Aaron's not working on Indie Underground, you'll usually find him at a concert or DIY event. He's a sucker for anything that glows in the dark and the company of his cat, Charlie. Watch for Aaron to make a return to DJing in 2018 when he will begin to mix Trance.